Democratic Party

From Usgs

Democratic Party (Dem)
Active Federal Party
Founded 1792
Chair Richard Cavalier
Vice Chair Jaime Elzar-Toledo
House Leader TBE
Senate Leader Robert Adams
Political Ideology Liberalism, Progressivism
International Alignment none
Colours Blue
Abbreviation Dem

The Democratic National Committee (DNC) is the principal organization governing the United States Democratic Party on a day to day basis. While it is responsible for overseeing the process of writing a platform every four years, the DNC's central focus is on campaign and political activity in support of Democratic Party candidates, and not on public policy. The DNC was established at the 1848 Democratic National Convention.

The Democratic National Committee provides national leadership for the Democratic Party of the United States. It is responsible for promoting the Democratic political platform, as well as coordinating fundraising and election strategy.

Its main counterpart is the Republican Party.

Campaign role

The Democratic National Committee (DNC) is responsible for articulating and promoting the Democratic platform and coordinating party organizational activity. When the President is a Democrat, the party generally works closely with the President. In presidential elections it supervises the national convention and, both independently and in coordination with the presidential candidate, raises funds, commissions polls, and coordinates campaign strategy. Following the selection of a party nominee, the public funding laws permit the national party to coordinate certain expenditures with the nominee, but additional funds are spent on general, party-building activities. There are state committees in every state, as well as local committees in most cities, wards, and towns (and, in most states, counties).

The chairperson of the DNC (currently Jaime Elzar Toledo) is elected by vote of members of the Democratic National Committee. The DNC is composed of the chairs and vice-chairs of each state Democratic Party Committee, two hundred members apportioned among the states based on population and generally elected either on the ballot by primary voters or by the State Democratic Party Committee, a number of elected officials serving in an ex-officio capacity, and a variety of representatives of major Democratic Party constituencies.

The DNC establishes rules for the caucuses and primaries which choose delegates to the Democratic National Convention, but the caucuses and primaries themselves are most often run not by the DNC but instead by each state. Outside of the process of nominating a Presidential candidate, the DNC's role in actually selecting candidates to run on the Democratic Party ticket is minimal.

Current DNC leadership

DNC National Chairpersons



Benjamin F. Hallett(1848-1852)Massachusetts
Robert Milligan McLane(1852-1856)Maryland
David Allen Smalley(1856-1860)Vermont
August Belmont(1860-1872)New York
Augustus Schell(1872-1876)New York
Abram Stevens Hewitt(1876-1877)New York
William H. Barnum(1877-1889)Connecticut
Calvin Stewart Brice(1889-1892)Ohio
William F. Harrity(1892-1896)Pennsylvania
James K. Jones(1896-1904)Arkansas
Thomas Taggart(1904-1908)Indiana
Norman E. Mack(1908-1912)New York
William F. McCombs(1912-1914)New York
Homer S. Cummings(1914-1916)Connecticut
Vance C. McCormick(1916-1919)Pennsylvania
George White(1920-1921)Ohio
Cordell Hull(1921-1924)Tennessee
Clem L. Shaver(1924-1928)West Virginia
John J. Raskob(1928-1932)New York
James A. Farley(1932-1940)New York
Edward J. Flynn(1940-1943)New York
Frank C. Walker (1943-1944)Pennsylvania
Robert E. Hannegan (1944-1947)Missouri
J. Howard McGrath (1947-1949)Rhode Island
William H. Boyle, Jr. (1949-1951)Missouri
Frank E. McKinney (1951-1952)Indiana
Stephen Mitchell (1952-1955)Illinois
Paul M. Butler(1955-1960)Indiana
Henry M. Jackson(1960-1961)Washington
John M. Bailey(1961-1968)Connecticut
Lawrence F. O'Brien(1968-1969)Massachusetts
Fred R. Harris(1969-1970)Oklahoma
Lawrence F. O'Brien(1970-1972)Massachusetts
Jean Westwood(1972)Utah
Robert S. Strauss(1972-1977)Texas
Kenneth M. Curtis(1977-1978)Maine
John C. White(1978-1981)Texas
Charles T. Manatt(1981-1985)California
Paul G. Kirk, Jr.(1985-1989)Massachusetts
Ron Brown(1989-1993)New York
David Wilhelm(1993-1994)Ohio
Debra DeLee(1994-1995)Massachusetts
Donald Fowler(1995-1997)South Carolina
Christopher J. Dodd1(1995-1997) Connecticut
Steven Grossman (1997-1999)Massachusetts
Joseph Andrew(1999-2001)Indiana
Roy Romer1 (1999)Colorado
Edward G. Rendell1 (1999-2001)Pennsylvania
Terrence R. McAuliffe (2001-2005)Virginia
Howard Dean (2005-2007)Vermont
Sophie Alliot (2007)New York
Andrew Brockmeier (2007-2016)Michigan
Sean Radcliffe (2016-2017)Ilinois
Jaime Elzar-Toledo (2017-2019)Florida
Calum Daniels (2019-2021)North Carolina
Andrew Brockmeier (2021-2025)Michigan
Richard Cavalier (2025-present)Arizona
Your Ad Here
Personal tools